Welcome to Ocean Optics XXIII!

Over 300 attendees gathered from around the world for the Ocean Optics conference October 23 - 28, 2016 at the Victoria in Victoria, British Columbia, Canada!

Access the PDF of the Program here.

Conference presentations included the science of optics across all aquatic environments, research and applications including (but not limited to) Biogeochemistry, Environmental Management and Applications, Instruments, Techniques and Observational Systems, Remote Sensing, Phytoplankton Ecology, Radiative transfer and Optical Theory, Global Change, and Benthic Processes.

The conference attracted a diverse audience of active practitioners in this field including oceanographers, marine ecologists, limnologists, optical engineers, marine resource managers, and policy professionals from around the world. Attendees attended plenary presentations during the day, then interacted with colleagues during scientific poster session receptions held in the exhibit/poster hall in the early evening.

In addition to invited and contributed oral and poster presentations, the conference also provided the opportunity for community-wide discussions in the form of Town Halls, Workshops and Short Courses. Small group meetings are also convened providing attendees with the opportunity to meet with collaborators or fellow committee members.

This conference was organized by The Oceanography Society (TOS).  As a professional society, TOS is committed to supporting a community that encourages the open expression and exchange of ideas, that is free from all forms of discrimination, harassment, and retaliation, and that is welcoming to all members and to those who participate in its activities. In pursuit of that commitment, TOS is dedicated to the philosophy of equality of opportunity and treatment for all participants.

 Please contact Conference Coordinator, Jenny Ramarui ([email protected]) if you have any questions about the conference. The 2018 conference will be held in Dubrovnik, Croatia!

2016 Planning Committee Members (left - right): Scott McLean (Canada), Maycira Costa (Canada), Jeremy Werdell (USA), Wayne Slade (USA), Maria Tzortziou (USA), Annick Bricaud (France), Ivona Cetinic (USA), Blake Schaeffer (USA), Lesley Clementson (Australia), Cedric Jamet (France), Grace Chang (USA), Oliver Zielinski (Germany), Susanne Craig, (Canada), Jenny Ramarui (USA), Emmanuel Devred (Canada), Toru Hirawake (Japan). Not pictured: Aurea Ciotti (Brazil), Paula Bontempi (USA).